Expansion of the Karnataka cabinet: Shettar, Savadi Miss Cabinet Berths, Cong welcomes 6 Lingayats, 4 Vokkaligas

(MENAFN-IANS) Bangalore, May 26 (IANS) Karnataka’s Congress government has completed the cabinet expansion process, finalizing the names of the 24 cabinet seats on Friday.
However, former chief minister Jagadish Shettar and deputy chief minister Laxman Savadi, who left the BJP to join Congress and helped swing Lingayat’s vote bank, missed out on cabinet posts. , sources said.
According to the sources, Senior Congressman of Gadag district HK Patil from Namdhari Reddy community, Krishna Byre Gowda representing Hebbal headquarters in Bengalurum, N. Cheluvarayaswamy from Mandya district, K. Venkatesh from Mysuru district and MC Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura district, all from Vokkaliga community, were accommodated.
Top Congress leaders Eshwar Khandre of Bidar, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur of Yadgir, Shivanand Patil of Vijayapura, SS Mallikarjun of Davanagere and Laxmi Hebbalkar of Belagavi, all from the Lingayat community, were appointed ministers.
Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s right-hand man, Dr. HC Mahadevappa from Mysuru district, RB Thimmapur from Bagalkot district and Shivaraj Tangadagi from Koppal district, all from the Scheduled Caste community, will serve as ministers.
Also included are KN Rajanna from Tumakuru District and a strong supporter of Siddaramaiah and B. Nagendra from Bellary District, both from the Scheduled Tribe.
Six-time MP and former head of state Dinesh Gundu Rao representing Gandhinagar seat in Bengaluru has also been appointed to the cabinet. He belongs to the Brahman community.
Mankal Vaidya, from the Mogaveera community, Uttara Kannada district, was chosen over the region’s veteran Congress leader RV Deshapande.
Rahim Khan, a senior Congressman from Bidar representing the Muslim community is in the cabinet. D. Sudhakar, representing the Jain community of Chitradurga, was appointed to the cabinet of three-time MP Raghu Murthy belonging to the ST community.
Santhosh Lad from Dharwad, belonging to the Maratha community; NS Bosaraju from Raichur, who belongs to the Raju BC community, Bhyrathi Suresh, a close confidant of Siddaramaiah from the Kuruba community will also be ministers.
The party welcomed Madhu Bangarappa from Shivamogga in a bid to strengthen the party’s roots in former CM BS Yediyurappa’s home country. Bangarappa belongs to the Ediga OBC community.
According to the list, CM Siddaramaiah had taken over his deputy DK Shivakumar. Six Lingayats, four Vokkaligas, five OBCs, three SCs, two STs, one each from the Brahmin, Muslim, Jain and Red communities secured the cabinet places in the second list.
Sources said the list had been sent to Raj Bhavan and the swearing-in ceremony would take place on Saturday morning.


Legal disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We assume no responsibility for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licensing, completeness, legality, or reliability of any information in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, please contact the provider above.

Leave a Reply