Karnataka cabinet expansion tomorrow, 24 lawmakers to be sworn in as ministers tomorrow

A week after taking power in Karnataka, Congress on Friday released the list of 24 lawmakers who will be sworn in as ministers to fill all ministerial vacancies.

The cabinet expansion will take place noon Saturday with their swearing-in, according to congressional leaders. The Karnataka government can have 34 ministers. While 10 of them, including Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and his deputy DK Shivakumar, were sworn in on March 20, the others will be inducted on Saturday.

Senior MP HK Patil, Krishna Byregowda, N Cheluvarayaswamy, K Venkatesh, Dr HC Mahadevappa, incumbent Congress President Eshwar Khandre and former Congress President Dinesh Gundu Rao are among those to be sworn in on Saturday.

Others who will visit the Karnataka cabinet are Kyathasandra N Rajanna, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, Shivanand Patil, Ramappa Balappa Timmapur, SS Mallikarjun, Shivaraj Sangappa Tangadagi, Dr Sharanaprakash Rudrappa Patil, Mankal Vaidya, Laxmi Hebbalkar, Rahim Khan, Dr Sudhakar, Santosh Lad , NS Boseraju, Suresha BS, the son of former CM S Bangarappa, Madhu Bangarappa, Dr. MC Sudhakar and B Nagendra.

According to Congress sources, Lakshmi Hebbalkar, Madhu Bangarappa, D Sudhakar, Cheluvaraya Swami, Mankul Vaidya and MC Sudhakar are considered close to Shivakumar.

Both Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar have been in the nation’s capital for three days and have held several rounds of talks.

The decision was finalized after hours of talks between Siddaramaih and his deputy Shivakumar with key central leaders, including AICC general secretaries KC Venugopal and Randeep Surjewala.

Congress Speaker Mallikarjun Kharge and former party leader Rahul Gandhi gave their final nods to the list that balances caste and regional equations in the southern state.

Earlier, the two Karnataka leaders also met Sonia Gandhi, for the first time after the formation of government in the state.

Differences between Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar emerged over the names of likely ministers, but were settled during discussions, the sources said.

Meanwhile, all the leaders left for Bengaluru from New Delhi for the swearing-in ceremony of the new ministers. Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu and his Jharkhand counterpart Hemant Soren also left with Shivakumar and Surjewala for Saturday’s event.

Portfolios have not yet been assigned. However, according to Minister KH Muniyappa, ministers’ portfolios will be announced by Saturday evening.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Leave a Reply